The Milton Freewater Area Foundation Distribution Committee is made up of a Director and five Committee Members who represent several local entities.  These include:  The City of Milton Freewater, the MF Chamber of Commerce, the MF School District, Baker Boyer Bank and the Kiwanis Club.  Baker Boyer Bank is the trustee for the Foundation trust fund.  Read about each of the Committee members below.

Committee Chairwoman

Janet Millar cropJanet Millar:  Janet has served on the Committee of Distribution for the Foundation since 2014. She is a long-time resident of Milton Freewater, having relocated from Arizona when she was quite young in 1974. Janet is a Mac-Hi graduate. As she raised her family, many years were spent with Janet volunteering in the local schools and her husband coaching basketball. Once the kids moved on to college, Mrs. Millar joined the Chamber of Commerce as a board member, and then with the Ambassadors, where she still serves. Janet loves the outdoors, gardening and yard work. She and her family also spend a lot of time in their mountain cabin and are very involved with their children and grandkids. Janet is passionate about her involvement in the MF Area Foundation because she loves to see kids succeed at school and move on to bigger things. The scholarships that the Foundation offers help students achieve their long-term goals and better their lives. She loves being a part of local events that help Milton Freewater bring about positive growth and change to its citizens.


Committee VP Chairman

Steve Irving CropSteve Irving: Steve has served over ten years on the MF Area Foundation Distribution Committee. He has lived in Milton Freewater for 33 years, working in the managerial side of various local grocery retail businesses. Steve is very dedicated to supporting his local community, having served on the MF City Council for over 7 years where he currently serves as Council president. He is a member of the Chamber Ambassadors and is a board member with the M-F Community Development Partnership and the Walla Walla Basin Watershed Council. Mr. Irving is a great lover of sports. He has been involved in youth softball and the Mac-Hi JV Squad. He loves to cheer on the Gonzaga Basketball team. Steve’s favorite pastime passion is supporting his own high school alumni. He is the Alumni Registrar for the Cascade Locks High School and has served on the Alumni Board. Steve is dedicated to his civic responsibilities and is proud to be the City of Milton Freewater’s committee representative.


Committee Members

Mike Swinnerton 5 cropMike Swinnerton: Mike has been a very visible member of the Milton Freewater community since 1995, through his ownership and management of the local State Farm Insurance Agency. He feels honored to serve as a steward of the resources available to our local community and enjoys connecting with other services and funding organizations that help make positive change in our area. That is why Mr. Swinnerton has served for more than 10 years on the MF Area Foundation Distribution Committee, as well as serving on the board of both the local Horizon Project, Inc. and the Milton Freewater Rotary Club. Mike is an avid outdoorsman, enjoying camping, hiking, kayaking, golfing, bicycling, and skiing. He has also honed his homebrewing skills over the last 30 years. Mike is passionate about his work and his family. His goal is to leave the world better than he found it!



Suzy Morris cropSuzy Morris: A Milton-Freewater native, Suzy Morris has served on the MFAF Distribution Committee for many years.  She has represented the Kiwanis service organization from the beginning.  Suzie’s work in the local community started right after she graduated from Mac-Hi.  She initially worked for the Oregon Bank as a bookkeeper, but soon dedicated her 31 year working career to the Milton-Freewater School District in a variety of positions, including administrative secretary, Transportation Supervisor and a much loved bus driver! In addition, Suzy partnered with her son to open a local sign business.  She is retired from all her paying jobs but keeps busy by volunteering with Kiwanis and the MFAF.  Her passions are children and flowers!  She loves working in her garden and doing whatever she can to enhance the lives of the children in her community.



Chris Banek cropChris Banek: A local entrepreneur and long-time resident of the Walla Walla Valley, Chris serves on the Distribution Committee as a representative for the Milton Freewater School District.  Mr. Banek is a very busy man, working in a variety of enterprises, including property management and vineyard development.  He is a dedicated husband and father.  He thrives on working hard for the betterment of his community and is the newest member of the Milton Freewater Area Foundation. 





 Foundation Director

Linda Whiting CropLinda Whiting: Linda is a new addition to the MF Area Foundation team. She started serving as the foundation director in 2021. Ms. Whiting has lived in the Walla Walla Valley for over 25 years. She came to the area from Micronesia, where she had worked for almost five years as an educator on the small island of Pohnpei. Linda spent over twenty years teaching elementary school and working as a school librarian in the Milton Freewater School District. She also currently serves as the Director of the Frazier Farmstead Museum which showcases the early pioneer families of the area. Ms. Whiting feels that preserving history is vital to the future of our society, especially with our young people. She is excited to be able to serve on a Foundation that supports the furthering of education for our local high school students and one that helps local civic organizations meet their own goals of helping the community.